San Miguel extends deadline for shift to RFID but tolls 100% cashless by Nov. 2



Motorists plying the San Miguel Corp.(SMC)-operated tollways — the Southern Tagalog Arterial Road (STAR), South Luzon Expressway (SLEX), the Skyway System, NAIA Expressway, and the Tarlac-Pangasinan-La Union Expressway (TPLEX) — have until the end of November to shift to RFID system.

 Nevertheless, SMC said it will comply with the government’s mandate to implement a 100% cashless or contactless toll collection in expressways.

“The surge in the number of motorists rushing to convert to the Autosweep RFID system have resulted in long queues at the installation stations, particularly these past two weeks. As such, many motorists have yet to secure their RFID stickers, even as the date of implementation draws near,” SMC said in a statement.

“For this reason, the company said it would be extending the issuance of its free RFID stickers to November 30,” it said.

However, the company said that by November 2, all lanes at its toll plazas will be fully capable and converted to electronic toll collection.

“After careful study and deliberation, and especially in consideration of so many motorists who have not been able to secure an Autosweep RFID account because of the volume of applications we have today, we have decided to extend the deadline to November 30,” SMC said.

This means that from November 2 to 30, vehicles without RFID will still be allowed to enter the expressways.

SMC emphasized that November 30 will be the “absolute” deadline.

After which, vehicles without RFID stickers will not be allowed to enter SMC-operated tollways including Skyway, SLEX, NAIAX, STAR Tollways and TPLEX.

“Motorists who do not conform to the government mandate will have to be apprehended and issued a citation ticket,” it said.

“To provide more convenience to motorists, SMC has set up installation and reloading lanes at toll plaza entry points, in addition to the installation and reloading stations already set up in strategic locations in Metro Manila and Luzon provinces,” it said. -NB, GMA News